I consider this my first official post!
I started out the day in my usual, boring way by getting up way too early before falling back to sleep for another hour. I finally got out of bed at and claimed that it was way too cold to be moving around the house. It was roughly 14C when I got out of bed; I believe that is in the low 50’s. Oh, we also slept with the window open. I think it’s getting a bit too chilly now to be sleeping that way at night; the last thing I need to catch is a chill!
After visiting the little fillies’ room I got my breakfast. Now I am normally not a breakfast person and never have been, but I still try to eat a little something every morning. I know many will argue that the first meal of the day should be your biggest one, but if I tried to do that…it wouldn’t be pretty.
So going on ahead…I went into the kitchen and was promptly greeted by an unruly puppy, I think the influx of colder weather is making her hyper, and then went to get my breakfast. My breakfast was some coffee (not giving up my 1 cup every couple of days) and a bowl of lite passion fruit yogurt with banana on top.
Ate, and then played with the puppy for the better part of an hour before returning to bed to get warm. I did some miscellaneous things that no one would find interesting (web surfing, blog creating…etc…) and decided to get my workout done before I got too comfortable and wasted another day doing nothing. Besides…working out on an empty stomach not only sucks, but is very unsafe, so I didn’t want to let my stomach become too empty before I started. Working out on an empty tummy is just inviting your workout to burn muscle instead of fat…not good. Also…did I mention unsafe? Yeah, I did.
I did a simple workout, 2 mile walk w/weights that burned 390 calories in 30 minutes.
And after that I was wheezy and went to take a hot shower. I am one of those that cannot stand exercise. Even when I had 5 months straight of working out 6 days a week…oh I could not stand it! I know that everyone and their brother say that working out makes you feel good, energized! It makes me feel tired and grumpy. The truth is the truth. I will never be a fitness guru, sorry!
So…pausing there for a minute or two, I am back on my journey to losing weight so I guess I’d better enlighten you all with some stats.
At my highest weight some six years ago, I was at 375 and was close to dropping dead in my twenties. I don’t remember what I did, but as the years passed I went from 375 – 355. I wasn’t really putting forth much effort, but the weight did come off.
Two years ago I was still 355 and decided in 2010 (or maybe it was 09… My memory is fuzzy with age…) that I was going to lose weight. I started strong Jan 1st and don’t we all, but then I started to falter a little in March. I am an all or nothing person, which can actually be very dangerous when desiring to lose weight. I was pretty scared of developing an eating disorder because when I started to “diet,” and keep in mind this happened every time I would try and lose weight, I would become very controlling over my food intake, convinced that I couldn’t eat over 1,000 calories a day, had to workout till I was dizzy and tired, and had to eat everything perfectly and if I dared eat even the smallest “no-no” food…well, that I had blown it and just to give up.
What a bunch of bull crap! First off, if you eat under 1,000 calories a day your body goes into starvation mode and you lose muscle, your body will also horde any calories you actually feed it, worried that you will starve to death if you don’t. And eating perfectly? Ha! That is also a crock, no one can do that all of the time and why would you? Life would be boring if all we ate was salad and grilled chicken and steamed fish! Losing weight does not = bland, icky foods that are the size of a postage stamp. Oh, and don’t let guilt rule you when it comes to food, last I checked no food on the planet was made with “guilt” as an ingredient. Your body needs fuel, people! That includes carbohydrates, the thing that most of the world is afraid of ingesting. Guess what? Your body needs them! Intense exercise needs to be worked up to, jumping into a high-impact aerobic workout from the get-go is dangerous. I guess I love that word, but it is so true. You could injure yourself that way…I’ve done it.
Anyways…that year whether it was 09 or 10, I went from 355 – 315 in five months, pretty dang good, and the slower you lose and build good habits, the harder it is to gain when one falls off the proverbial wagon!
But as the summer drew to a close I stopped caring. I was at 310 when I stopped my efforts. Winter meant cold, ice, snow, and dreariness. To be honest winter depresses the crap out of me and I don’t feel like doing anything useful.
By the time I left Kansas to move to Australia in May of 2011, (Actually I think I did lose the weight in 09…) I was back to 335. Took 2 years to get back up 25 pounds, but I really wish I hadn’t. That 17 hour plane ride sucked.
This year in 2012 I am going to lose at least 50 pounds, slow and steady wins the race after all, and the slower one loses the better off their body will be for it. And you won’t be so quick to gain if you have a slip up! I like that. =P
In January I went from 330 – 317. I ate roughly 1700 calories a day, lots of fruits, veggies, whole grains and lean meats, and did 30 minutes of cardio 6 days a week and 3 days of mild strength training. And being honest the month wasn’t even a perfect one! I had pizza once, curry 3 times, and even Turkish pide.
In Feb…well…. I put too much into January because when the next month hit I was done. I think I exercised for a couple of weeks in there, but not much. My weight rose and fell, maintaining between 314 – 317.
It is now nearly the end of March and I am now 319.5. Let’s not get back into the 320’s! By the end of May I would really like to be knocking on the front gates of Two-Ville. We will see.
Now, I also have (had?) a habit of using the scale too much, but am slowly coming away from it. The scale is honestly a pretty lame way to track one’s fitness and overall level of health. I may actually begin weighing once every two weeks instead of once a week, it can be very easy to become overly-obsessive about a number on the scale that really doesn’t mean much. Body weight can fluctuate as much as five pounds daily, so not like you can control it anyways…not without going to extremes. I’m not even going to try; I’ll only frustrate myself and end up failing because I can’t control it just so.
Anyways, back on track. After my shower and stuff I shared a snack with my husband…vitamin C overload! We each had one and a half oranges, yum!
Spent thirty minutes after that typing away on this thing to get it started, and then walked up the road to get something from the store for lunch. Once I got home I made my lunch, which was some chicken and corn soup (that entire “pot” was 160 calories…I was surprised) and 5 cracked black pepper crackers and a sandwich that was on wholegrain bread with avocado, ham, tomato, fresh ground black pepper, cucumber, and beet root. All in all lunch wasn’t even 350 calories, and it was yum.
Afterwards did some generic stuff…getting laundry off the line, playing with the crazy puppy, and some MMORPGing. I play CoH for those who care. =P Started feeling yuck and had a couple of these: Eucalyptus confectionary, only like…5 calories and 0.2 carbs for each little ball. I had 2, helped my congestion a little.
Fast forward to dinner time: a lovely (lite!) chicken and vegetable curry with rice and some all-natural OJ. There is a quarter cup of rice under there someplace. 90% of that is veggies, including carrot, onion, zucchini, mushroom, and green pepper.
After that the mother-in-law and I watched a teenage chick flick type thing called Wild Child. Would have been nicer if the LAN party in the house wasn’t so freakin’ rude and carrying on like a group of ferals while we were trying to watch the movie, and then the dog started barking at nothing.
And with that I will leave you all till tomorrow. I think I am going to go off to bed since I think I have finally caught the wave of cold/flu that has been traveling around the house for the past week.
~ Ael






No comments:
Post a Comment